15 Men Australia Squad for ICC Champions Trophy Announced

2017 ICC Champions Trophy Australia Cricket team
2017 ICC Champions Trophy Australia Cricket team

2006 and 2009 ICC Champions Trophy Winners Australia Cricket team have announced their 15 Member Squad for the Upcoming 2017 ICC Champions Trophy. Steven Smith will be leading the Two times Champions Australia Team in the Eight Edition of the Champions Trophy which will begin from the 1st June.

If we look at the squad team will included the Mitchell Starc and Chris Lynn in the Australian Side as both players are recovering from the foot and shoulder injuries respectively. As per Eighth Edition of Champions Trophy Fixtures, Aussies to starts the CT 2017 Campaign by playing the first game against New Zealand on 2nd June.


Australia’s selector Trevor Hohns said, “Our medical staff will continue to monitor Mitchell and Chris’ recovery from their respective injuries, but we are hopeful they will be fit in time for the team’s departure on May 18.”

One of the surprise thing in the selection is team dropped key all rounder of James Faulkner from the odi squad. Faulkner who became the Man of the Match in 2015 World cup Final where Australia won the game too.

“James (Faulkner) has been a consistent performer for the one-day squad for several years, however with players such as Pattinson, Cummins and Hastings coming back to full fitness and the emergence of Marcus Stoinis, James was squeezed out of the squad and is an unlucky omission”, Trevor said.

Team open by the David Warner and Aaron Finch while on the middle order Smith, Maxwell, Lynn make more strength of the team.